top of page

A Joyful Cup


Hello Friends,

I hope your week was better than mine, I confess I've been having a bad month but each moment I see more and more of God moving throughout life. So blessed to be His daughter. Today as I write in my journal, I wanted to talk about depression. Lets get some coffee and tea. More than half of the population struggles with depression. You are not alone. This word has taken over my life, has changed me, broken me, taught me to persevere and has shown me that nothing is impossible with God. Depression is a bondage that had held me in prison for four years and I still struggle with it today. Depression is not an emotion, it is merely a illness that can corrupt the mind and soul. There is no cure. But today, I can tell you, there is a way out.

"I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." -Philippians 4:13

With God all things are possible. His word reminds us over and over how God is able to do anything and everything. He can break every chain. We just need to have faith. Remember the story of the woman who though, "only if I could touch the edge of Jesus's coat, I will be well." Indeed that little bit of faith had broken the chain of sickness over her life. When she touched his coat, he stopped and questioned who touched him. Here is what Jesus said to her:

"...Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering." -Mark 5:34

It is faith that breaks our bondages. We need to put on that armor of God. Satan wants to deceive, kill and destroy. He uses depression as one of his tactics. Take your stand and say NO. Once you believe you will be healed, everything changes. Many people wouldn't even believe that I am depressed, Im sure most of you relate. You hide your emptiness behind a plastic smile and a bubbly laugh. But I discovered the more you smile through your pain, you find joy. Once I stopped letting go of trying to find happiness, I discovered I was truly filled with Joy. God gives us Joy once we surrender our burdens to him. He cries when we cry He laughs when we laugh He smiles when we smile He loves even when we turn away. This verse speaks of God's tenderness and love towards us.

"You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book." -Psalm 56:8

God collects all your tears, he holds you in this time. When you are hurting, frustrated, disappointed or angry, call out to God. He is here. He is with you always. Some things take time to heal. Just take it day by day. Moment by moment. One of my close friends told me to focus on the now and what is happening there instead of looking ahead and feeling overwhelmed. Depression is caused by many things. 1) One way depression happens is when we start to bottling up our feelings and stuffing them way down in our minds. The way we can avoid this is by having a friend who we can tell all our problems to. Write in a journal, get your feelings out. Cry when you need to cry. Scream into a pillow if you are angry. Don't stuff those feelings down, get them out. If you lock them up deep inside, you will regret it. 2) Another way depression happens if circumstances are tragic or painful, disturbing the rhythm of daily life and our minds and bodies cant process it thinking its tragic like losing a loved one. Our bodies go in shut down auto pilot mode until it can get back to normal again. When this happens, try to stay out of the house, meet up with close friends and keep busy. Take walks, pray, do stuff that make you feel good. Even if it means drinking that "unhealthy hot chocolate..." Its your life, do it! Most importantly, ask for help. Let your closest friends that you trust know that you are struggling, ask for prayer at your church. You are not alone. Most people around you have struggled with this at one point in their life. How can they help you if you don't ask them? Don't be afraid for things will turn out for the better. Turn to Jesus and cast all your burdens upon him.

"Come to Me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light." -Matthew 11:28-30

You are not alone. It is a season, a trial to test your faith and prove your faithfulness, hang in there. It will be okay. There is a bright future ahead. There are people out there that are willing to help you. Medication that can help you cope, people you can talk to, things you can do. It is possible to defeat. My psychologist once looked at me in the eye and said depression could never be cured, he explained that all his patients kill themselves at one point. From that day forward I have been set on proving him wrong. HE IS WRONG. You have to believe in yourself. Believe that life was made for you, you are here for a reason. Yes, there are still days where I can't get out of bed and have the urge to cut or swallow pills but in those moments I pray: Jesus you have victory over this depression, this anger, this frustration I surrender it to you for I cant do this alone. Say it out loud for there is power in our voices when we cry out to God for help. Trust in Jesus. He is the way, the truth, the life. If you ever need to talk my email is up there! Love you all! Have a beautiful day!

xoxox

Bri


Hi There

Hello, I am just popping in to let you know you can reach out to me or comment or whatever you like. Im here for you.

Happy Blogging! Cheers xox

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Tag cloud
No tags yet.

BREATHE.

"And the decision to forgive has stayed the same, and it will stay the same a thousand times over.
It's a beautiful gift.
And choosing love over hatred is really important.
Love over evil.
That's really important in this age that we're living in." 
-Yolande Korkie

"THE BEST AND MOST BEAUTIFUL THINGS IN THE WORLD CANNOT BE SEEN OR EVEN FELT . THEY ARE FELT WITH THE HEART."

-HELEN KELLER 

More everything. More love. More Adventures. More food. More laughter. Just more.

bottom of page