top of page

Let Go

Hello Friends,

I can't believe the year is already over. So many memories being made, both sad and happy ones. Sometimes its hard to let it go and you are afraid of what the future holds. I have to admit, I am having trouble with letting go therefore this will be a reminder of how God tells us over and over to not be afraid and to let go of anger, hurt and treasure the happy movements.

"Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand." -Isaiah 41:10

God says to not be afraid for he is in control. He put you here on this world for a reason. He has a plan of a bright future and hope for you. Sometimes, in our circumstances, it can be hard to see the bigger picture but all you need to do is have faith and believe. It is by faith that all things are possible. It is by faith that people were healed in the name of Jesus. And God truly has a plan for us. For it says in His word:

"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future." -Jeremiah 29:11

The past is what shapes us. God has a bright hope for us ahead. In order to keep our hearts set on what God has for us, we need to let go of the past. For many of us, our past may have been ugly, full of bitterness and hurt. Others may have been happy, peaceful and wonderful. We need to treasure the happy days and let go of the anger inside of us. I had this bitterness inside of me for a long time over a person who brought my self esteem to a barely there, all time low. When God wants to work on your heart, he wants you to give up the things you cling on to. I clung to my anger towards this person in my heart, building a wall between me and God. My hand became an iron grip around this anger. It is true when people say, Let Go, Let God. Because when we hold on to things, we push God away. But when we let go, we are drawn closer to God.

"If you cling to your life, you will lose it; but if you give up your life for Me, you will find it."-Matthew 10:39

To let go, I had to understand that I couldn't do this on my own. This burden had taken a toil on me. I couldn't sleep, I was always tired, always angry and miserable. I had to forgive this person. I had to get rid of this awful burden. I had to ask for help from friends who were strong in their faith and leaders at my church to pray over me. I had waited so long, it was a huge and thick wall stopping me from hearing God. But the first step you take makes it possible. And all things are possible with God. Slowly and surely the wall came tumbling down and I gave up my anger. I wrote about my feelings, I talked to God, I confessed with my friends how I've been doing and what I was struggling in and all of that has helped me to free my bitterness, the grudge I held for so long. Jesus had died for us so we could be freed from the burdens that weigh us down. He had set us free. Let go, let God.

"If the Son sets you free, you are truly free indeed." -John 8:36

We need to let go of all the gunk in our past. Since Christ forgave us, we need to forgive others. It is hard but you can do it. It took me a lot of praying and a lot of love to forgive that person that hurt me. But when I forgave, I realized something. How much more love Christ had for me when I was worthless and sinful and killed him on the cross. He forgave us even though we hated him to the point of death. That is true love. Let go, let God. Remember the happy times. Draw a picture about those happy moments if you are artistic, write about it if you are a writer, make a song about if you are musically talented and video tape it. Try to capture it. For me, I have a jar and I write something that was happy to me like for example, "my cousin just got married," and put it in the jar. Don't let your past affect who you are now. Your past was your past but now you have the power to change your destiny. Let go, Let God.God is in control.His hand is upon you.His path is full of hope.His love casts out all fear.His grace works best in your weakness.Hope you have a wonderful beginning of the New Year! Remember my email is up there if you want to talk. Love you all!

Have a beautiful day!

xox

Bri

Hi There

Hello, I am just popping in to let you know you can reach out to me or comment or whatever you like. Im here for you.

Happy Blogging! Cheers xox

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Tag cloud
No tags yet.

BREATHE.

"And the decision to forgive has stayed the same, and it will stay the same a thousand times over.
It's a beautiful gift.
And choosing love over hatred is really important.
Love over evil.
That's really important in this age that we're living in." 
-Yolande Korkie

"THE BEST AND MOST BEAUTIFUL THINGS IN THE WORLD CANNOT BE SEEN OR EVEN FELT . THEY ARE FELT WITH THE HEART."

-HELEN KELLER 

More everything. More love. More Adventures. More food. More laughter. Just more.

bottom of page